David Eisenberg
David Eisenberg focuses on the molecular basis of neurodegeneration and other amyloid-induced conditions. His team has learned the structures of amyloid fibrils and oligomers from x-ray and electron diffraction and cryoEM. From these structures, they design inhibitors to halt amyloid aggregation and cell-to-cell spreading of fibrils. Eisenberg is an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, working at UCLA, with the goals of understanding and inhibiting amyloid diseases.


Cameron Kepert
Cameron Kepert is a Professor in the School of Chemistry at the University of Sydney. He received his B.Sc.(Hons) from the University of Western Australia, PhD from the Royal Institution of Great Britain/University of London, and was a Junior Research Fellow at the University of Oxford from 1995-1998. He is a recipient of the Australian Prime Minister’s Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year, the Le Fèvre Memorial Prize of the Australian Academy of Science, the Burrows Award and Rennie Medal of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute, and Federation and Future Fellowships from the Australian Research Council. His research interests include nanoporous metal-organic framework materials, spin-crossover, molecular magnets, molecular conductors, and negative thermal expansion materials.


Amy Rosenzweig
Amy Rosenzweig is the Weinberg Family Distinguished Professor of Life Sciences in the Departments of Molecular Biosciences and of Chemistry at Northwestern University. She received a B. A. in chemistry from Amherst College and a Ph. D. in inorganic chemistry from Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a member of the National Academy of Sciences. Her laboratory uses biochemical, biophysical, X-ray crystallographic, spectroscopic, and omic approaches to attack problems at the forefront of bioinorganic chemistry. Areas of interest include biological methane oxidation, metal uptake and transport, and oxygen activation by metalloenzymes.


Susan Lea
Susan Lea holds a Chair in Microbiology at the Sir William Dunn School of Pathology in Oxford and is Director of the Central Oxford Structural Microscopy and Imaging Centre. Her research interests broad with foci in bacterial infection, host responses supplemented by interests in fundamental cellular processes including centrosome assembly and Notch mediated signalling. The work is support by a Welcome Investigator and Collaborative Awards and a Programme from the Medical Research Council.



Deanna D’Alessandro
Deanna D’Alessandro obtained her PhD (2006) degree from James Cook University in Australia under the supervision of E/Prof. Richard Keene, followed by postdoctoral research (2007-9) with Prof. Jeff Long at the University of California, Berkeley. Since 2010, she has been based at the University of Sydney where her group works on fundamental and applied aspects of electroactive coordination framework materials. These fundamental advances have potential as the basis of new technologies for a diverse range of applications including energy conversion and storage, electrocatalysis and sensing, amongst others.


Catherine Day
The goal of my research is to develop a detailed understanding of cell signalling pathways. We use structural and biochemical approaches to obtain a molecular description of the protein complexes that signal different cellular outcomes. The main goal of my current research is to discover how the attachment of ubiquitin to proteins is regulated, and how this modification alters protein function and cell signalling. Disruption of protein ubiquitylation results in a range of diseases, including cancer and autoimmune diseases. As a result, there is considerable potential for development of new therapeutics that modulate protein ubiquitylation.


Dr Hiroshi Kitagawa
H. K. received his Ph.D. from Kyoto University in 1992. He was Assistant Professor at IMS & JAIST, Associate Professor at University of Tsukuba, and Professor at Kyushu University. In 2009, he returned back to the original laboratory at Kyoto University. He held a visiting appointment at Royal Institution of Great Britain (1993-1994). He is now Vice Provost and Deputy Executive-Vice President for Research at Kyoto University. He is engaged at JST as Research Supervisor of “Science and Creation of Innovative Catalysts”, PRESTO. His research fields are solid-state chemistry, coordination chemistry, nano-science, low-dimensional electron system, and molecule-based conductors.


Richard Neutze
Richard Neutze took his PhD in Physics in 1995 from the University of Canterbury (New Zealand). He was introduced to the field of molecular biophysics at Oxford University (England); completed a postdoc at Tübingen University (Germany); and then moved to Uppsala University (Sweden). In 1998 Neutze became Assistant Professor at Uppsala University. He moved his group to Chalmers University of Technology in 2000. In 2006 Neutze was appointed Professor of Biochemistry at the University of Gothenburg. Neutze has worked on the structural biology of aquaporins; bacterial rhodopsins; photosynthetic reaction centres; time-resolved diffraction and time-resolved wide angle X-ray scattering studies of membrane proteins. He is recognized as one of the pioneers developing new approaches to structural biology using x-ray free electron laser radiation. 


Ayana Sato-Tomita
Ayana Sato-Tomita obtained her D. Sci. degree from Tokyo Institute of Technology (Tokyo Tech) in 2009. She worked as a postdoctoral fellow at Tokyo Tech from 2009 to 2011. From 2011 to 2014, she worked as a JSPS research fellow at Photon Factory (PF) in KEK. From 2014 to 2015, she worked as an assistant professor at PF. From 2015 and currently, she worked as an assistant professor at Jichi Medical University. She won the L’OREAL-UNESCO for Women in Science Japan Awards in 2009. Her main study is a visualization of a protein structure-change in an atomic resolution.


Yanli Wang
Yanli Wang’s group focuses on the CRISPR-Cas system, which is a prokaryotic adaptive immunity system. Her team has determined a series of crystal and cryo-EM structures of Cas proteins in complex with RNA or DNA. Their studies provide significant insights into the molecular mechanism by which CRISPR-Cas systems protect the bacteria against the foreign nucleic acids. Yanli Wang is an investigator in Institute of Biophysics, Chinese Academy of Sciences. She is also an HHMI-Wellcome International Research Scholar. 


Comments are closed